DAY ONE

May 30, 2011

 

Still no v in the vlog.  Just think of it as a regular, old blog.  Especially since I keep forgetting to take my camera around with me.  Might do today.

We’re meeting up with some man named Warren for a walking tour of “The City.”  Now, for those of you who subscribe to common sense, civil planning, and the logical naming of places, don’t come to London.  “The City” is actually a part of London, referring to the inner city that was the original London.  Get it?  I think there are some old fragments of the walls that used to surround the city back in the old days.  Called the Barbican.  Would love to see that, since I love the word.

Last night had a three-course meal in Covent Garden.  I had tomato soup, shepherd’s pie, and spotted dick.  Yes, I know.  I was the only person to order it, and it was actually very good.  I don’t think I’d order it again, though.  Just for the shame that’s in it.

Despite our plans for a walking tour, me and Jason walked everywhere yesterday.  Took a trip down to 221B Baker Street and then proceeded to get lost.  After dinner, we walked from Covent Garden to see Trafalgar Square and then proceeded to get lost again.  On the other hand, we managed in that time to locate London Zoo, Regent’s Park, Hyde Park, Parliament, Westminster Abbey, St. Thomas Hospital, Lambeth Bridge, Madame Tussaud’s, and a whole mess of other things.  Wasn’t a bad day in the end.

Later tonight we’re going to see The Cherry Orchard and “go for a pint,” which apparently means to drink beer.  Who’d’ve thunkit?  We were meant to have read The Cherry Orchard by the time we were hear, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  I’m glad to hear that no one else did, either.

Cheers to blisters.

— Henry

One Response to “DAY ONE”

  1. Sounds like and awesome day (despite lacking in beer). And while thats great and all, you cant just throw up a map written in what appears to be Polish and not explain it!

Leave a comment